Leslie Britten

Everything I know about knitting and crocheting (and sewing) is because of Leslie! She works at my local haberdashery shop and if I need direction, Leslie promptly and sharply gets me on track. Our banter is the best part of my knitting experience! If it wasn’t for her, I would have stopped knitting and there’s no chance would I have dared the crochet!

Let’s put it in perspective ….

20140309-073542.jpg
Cables, a walk in the park! I’m pretty sure this work flew off her needles! Leslie is so talented and doesn’t realize it. Without a doubt she knows that she knows her stuff very, very, very well, yet I believe she could also be a designer, a writer or a professor of the handmade arts!!

Just yesterday I took a tiny snippet of material (soon to be a dress) to match with some thread and I asked Leslie if it was 100% cotton or if there might be some stretch fabric in it and she not only knew it was all cotton, but she knew the brand!

I never knew going to my wool shop would be so entertaining! It’s now my favorite place to visit. Leslie is from Tasmania and can I just say that I have yet to meet a Tassie I didn’t like. They have a spirit that I not only love, but find tremendously hilarious! The humor is quirky and ridiculously funny and I love it!!

I hope she eventually agrees to write a book with me or at least would be the editor!

“Aran…Aran so far away…Aran all night and day”….a flock of seagulls is not the only thing to admire, especially if you walk along the beach in this beauty! An Aran “jumper” knitted by Leslie!! I think she’s ready to part with it, so email me if you might be interested.

All I can say is that I hope all you artists, knitters and hand makers out there have as wonderful a teacher and crafting-friend as I do! How’d I’d get so lucky?? I always find the right people when I really need them! Well, most of the time, ha!

20140309-082847.jpg

About rhondabreen

I change daily and I find it difficult to tell you about me. I'm a mom and a woman, that doesn't change. I'm an artist, I hope that doesn't change, I'm a wife and so far that hasn't changed either, and I'm a scientist and that's forever because I'm too curious to be anything else. But you know, all this information still doesn't help me know much about me, and so it doesn't likely help you know much about me. I guess it's best to read my blog and maybe we'll figure it out together!! Have a peek.......

4 responses to “Leslie Britten

  1. Lesley

    Wow! Lucky indeed and what a beautiful piece!

  2. My life is a fortunate one for sure!

  3. leslie Britten

    how lovely to have such a lovely customer and even better to have Rhonda as a friend.The most eager to learn person I have met in a long time. It makes my day when she comes in for chat

Leave a Reply

